Informed mum banner

Finalists announced for 2018 Public Oral Health Awards

19 November 2018


Dental Health Services Victoria (DHSV) is pleased to announce the finalists for this year’s Public Oral Health Awards. The Awards celebrate public oral health professionals, volunteers and organisations that demonstrate outstanding dedication to improving the health outcomes of the Victorian community.

DHSV CEO Dr Deborah Cole commended the outstanding efforts from this year’s finalists.

“It’s great to see so many exceptional people recognised for the meaningful work done across the state to improve public oral health in Victoria,” said Dr Cole.

“The nominees are of incredibly high calibre and we are lucky to have such a talented group of finalists in this year’s Awards,” said Dr Cole.

Star of Public Dentistry

The Star of Public Dentistry Award recognises staff in the Victorian public dental sector that have gone above and beyond their roles to improve oral health. The finalists are:

  • Mariana Cassini, Bass Coast
  • Dr Felicia Valianatos, Link Health and Community
  • Alison Wheeler, Northeast Health Wangaratta

Oral Health Project of the Year

The Oral Health Project of the Year Award recognises public oral health projects that bring value to patient care and improve oral health outcomes. The finalists are:

  • Improving access to dental services for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island children, Monash Health
  • Little Smiles – Moreland, Merri Health
  • Silver Diamine Fluoride project, DHSV with IPC Health and DPV Health

Public Dental Clinic of the Year

The Public Dental Clinic of the Year Award recognises DHSV agencies and teams working to improve the health outcomes of Victorians. Entrants demonstrate how they bring value to patient care and how they improve the patient and staff experience. The finalists are:

  • Bendigo Health Dental Services, Bendigo Health
  • Oral Health Program, EACH
  • Dental Services Program, Merri Health

Community Oral Health Champion

The Community Oral Health Champion Award recognises individuals for their contribution to the Victorian public oral health sector, through a volunteer capacity or in partnership with DHSV staff. The finalists are:

  • Josh Wilkins, One Voice
  • genU Oral Health Champions group led by Margery Pithouse, genU Karingal St Laurence
  • Jacinta Masters, Echuca Regional Health Service

The winners of the Public Oral Health Awards will be announced at the 2018 DHSV Annual General Meeting on Thursday 29 November.