Board of Directors


The functions of the Board of a public health service are prescribed by the Health Services (Governance and Accountability) Act 2004. The Governor in Council, on the Minister for Health's recommendation, appoints the DHSV Board of Directors. Members reflect a mix of qualifications, skills and experience, particularly in the areas of dental health, community welfare, finance and business.

Zoe Wainer 

Dr Zoe Wainer (Chair) BMBS, PhD, MPH, GAICD

Appointed to the Board in July 2015
Reappointed in June 2018

Chair: Executive Performance & Remuneration Committee
Member: Finance Committee

Zoe is the Head of Public Health at Bupa Australia and New Zealand and a Director on the Board of the Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation. Her passion and expertise in public health has driven formal and informal collaborations with the ICHOM and Harvard Business School in value based health care across multiple organisations and she has a continued advocacy focus on the importance of sex differences across health from basic research to health systems implications.

Zoe holds a Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery from Flinders University, and has a clinical background in cardiothoracic surgery and thoracic surgical oncology. She has a PhD and a Masters of Public Health from The University of Melbourne and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Kathy Bell

Kathy Bell BA (Hons), GradCertHealthEcons, MPH, GAICD

Appointed to the Board in July 2009
Reappointed to the Board in July 2018

Chair: Population Health Committee
Member: Executive Performance & Remuneration Committee

Kathy has extensive experience in public health policy and management, with a focus on primary healthcare, workforce issues, ageing, and Aboriginal health.
She has held CEO roles in a number of organisations, and is currently engaged in Board and consulting work.

Dr Pamela Dalgliesh

Dr Pamela Dalgliesh BDS, Cert Dental Therapy

Appointed to the Board in July 2011

Chair: Safety and Quality Committee
Member: Audit and Risk and Executive Performance & Remuneration Committee

Pamela has twenty five years’ experience in corporate governance and an impressive oral health background. She has held leadership roles with the Health Issues Centre, Victorian Women’s Dentists Association, ADAVB, Dental Practice Board of Victoria and the Registration and Notification Committee of Dental Board of Australia. Pamela has also been appointed as a Fellow of the Academy of Dentistry International and International College of Dentistry. In the past six years she has been involved in working with refugees from Africa and Burma with the Lutheran Church as its Community Development Facilitator. She is currently on the Board of Management for the Mansfield District Hospital.

Barbara Hingston

Barbara Hingston BA, BSW, GAICD, AASW ICDA

Appointed to the Board in August 2013
Reappointed July 2016

Chair: Community Advisory Committee
Member: Finance Committee

Barbara brings a wealth of knowledge from governance, management and practice roles in health – acute, primary care and mental health and practitioner education, and in the community - disability services and policy, and addressing women and children’s safety, family violence and sexual abuse.

She has extensive experience in organisational and clinical governance, quality and safety and consumer and other stakeholder engagement, social policy development, strategic planning, and service evaluation.

Barbara’s current non-executive directorships include as Director of the inaugural statewide Tasmanian Health Service Governing Council, Director of the Board of the Public Trustee Tasmania and she is an appointee to the Minister’s Disability Advisory Council, Tasmania. Her former Directorships include the Boards of Austin Health Service Victoria, the national Board of Catholic Social Services Australia and national Director of Headspace, the National Youth Mental Health Foundation Ltd.

Judith Klepner

Judith Klepner BA, Dip Ed, Grad Dip Inter Ethnic Studies and Education, GAICD

Appointed to the Board in July 2016

Member: Population Health Committee and Safety and Quality Committee

Judith offers expert advice and insight in the fields of industrial relations, health and safety, community engagement and risk management.

She has extensive board experience including having served as a director for the Adult, Community and Further Education Board, member of the management committee of the South Melbourne Market, on the Board of Multicultural Arts Victoria and as Councillor for the City of Port Phillip.
Judith is currently a member of the Board of Gasworks Arts and Board Chair of Star Health.

Lucy Hunter Dental Health Services Victoria Board of Directors

Lucy Hunter BA, LLB (Hons.I). Dip Ed

Appointed to the Board in August 2017
Member: Finance Committee

Lucy has expertise in law. Lucy has worked as a solicitor in private practice and is currently corporate counsel at Latrobe Regional Hospital.

Lucy has held appointments to governing bodies of various health and statutory agencies, as well as being a past member of human research and ethics committees.

David Stevenson

David Stevenson BBus(Mgt) and GAICD

Appointed to the Board in July 2018
Member: Community Advisory and Audit and Risk Committee

David has over 20 years’ experience as a CEO and Senior Executive, both in Australia and internationally. He has worked with iconic brands such as Nike, and Foot Locker in the consumer goods and retail sectors and in the sport sector, the AFL and the Western Bulldogs as CEO. He is also founder and partner of Bold Works, a company that helps businesses develop their Bold future or execute bold ideas. David is passionate about developing people, setting a Bold vision, developing a strong strategic plan and focusing on execution to deliver results. David is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has a Bachelor of Business (Management) from Monash university.

Antony Tobin


Appointed to the Board in July 2018

Antony has worked in the public health system for over 25 years and has been the Deputy Director of Intensive Care at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne since 2007. He has practiced medicine in both the public and private sectors in Australia in addition to working overseas.

In 2017 he was appointed Head of Medicine at St Vincent’s Hospital, a role encompassing responsibilities for clinician engagement, strategic planning and clinical process improvement.

Antony chairs a number of quality and planning committees within the hospital and has research interests in clinical outcome analysis.  He has post graduate qualifications in epidemiology and health management.

Andrew Saunders 

Andrew Saunders BSc GradDipEd MBA MAICD

Appointed to the Board in July 2018

Chair: Audit and Risk Committee
Member: Finance Committee

Andrew is an experienced transformation leader for complex business, organisation and digital change; with broad experience in Health, Insurance, Finance and Government. He is currently a Board Director for Eastern Health in Melbourne and the Health Information & Management Systems Society (HiMSS) Asia Pacific.

Previous roles have included the Health Chief Information Officer for Victoria, Chief Executive and CIO for WorkSafe and the Transport Accident Commission's  information & technology shared solution and Board Director of Alfred Health.